Get it Painted! (Jan 23, 2017)

A bright bit of news, there’s a few people that glance at my blog and like my posts and you guys have racked up 20 likes! It was happy little alert to get today!  Second piece of bright news, I painted an entire heavy from primer to completion in 6 hours in one session! Endurance was something I’ve been struggling with, longer sessions put a lot of strain on my eyes (my current eyeglass prescription is…off, something to do with the anti-glare coating and it makes long sessions rough). This is another Cryx model, a Slayer. Currently most of what one can find online about Cryx tries to convince one that the faction is a burning dumpster fire! They’re wrong (mostly just lazy people that find complaining easier than thinking and change). Enough of that though, onto the model itself!

This has been one of my favorite models to paint…ever. It has a lot of fun, small details that are easy to pick out. Overall, it’s a fairly good looking model and it accepted my thoughts quite easily. I’ve got a few other color schemes I’d like to try other than the blue and gold (white and gold I think would be very striking) and fortune smiles on me because I’ve got one more Slayer to paint! This also brings me 3 more bases closer to that magic 31! One last thing I wanted to ramble about, the rune. This rune is out of one of the Cryx fluff books, it means “Strength” and it was probably one of the easier runes to freehand. From the pictures you should be able to see that the rune is a wonderful example of my failure to adequately thin my paints, but in this case I don’t mind it (the raised nature of the rune helps define and separate it from the blue base). Doing freehand details and getting the paints sufficiently thin to avoid that build up, but thick enough to be controllable (read: to not run absolutely everywhere) is a massive pain. It’s the primary reason that I don’t do more freehand details. Overall I think this jack turned out rather nicely! (Also Deneghra1 is still a meta-defining powerhouse. Come at me!)

January Running Tally
The “Strength” Slayer: 3
Acosta: 1
Old Crusader!!!: 3
Knight Exemplar Grunts 4+5: 2
Stormguard Captain + Grunt, Captain Finn: 3
Mobius + Bane Warrior Grunt: 3
Knight Exemplar Grunts 2 + 3: 2
Punch Monk: 1
Knight Exemplar Grunt (1/5): 1
Knight Exemplar Captain: 1
Major Beth Maddox: 1
Woldwyrd x2: 4
25/31

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Get it Painted! (Jan 26, 2017) | 4d6kobolds

Leave a Reply

